top of page
Search

Leaving Alpha Xi

My years at UNCG as a member of Mu Phi Epsilon - Alpha Xi has been one full of optimism and confidence. At first, I was on the fence of either joining Phi Mu Alpha or Mu Phi Epsilon back in the Spring semester of 2016, but ultimately felt more connected and able to be myself with Mu Phi Epsilon. I felt as though I had a family on campus that I could rely on and openly share with. It always brought me great pride to be a part of something bigger than myself that held a presence in the School of Music, and it was also the constant sight of such positive and enjoyable people that made me choose Mu Phi. There have been many changes throughout the years in power in the music fraternities on campus that have shifted many opinions about them, but I’ve always seen Mu Phi as an impactful one, through our lowest and highest of semesters.

I wear my pin proudly and have no issue exercising my role as a leader on campus. Whenever I think about my journey through the School of Music’s halls, I remember that Mu Phi was a great part of me and I hope to leave my legacy here for everyone to remember me as someone they could always rely on and talk to and not just the really good clarinet player. It’s always reassuring, however, to reflect on all its current and former members and realizing that Mu Phi is always in good hands. The future looks just as confident and optimistic as I will always remember it to be, because I love my brothers and will always keep my head high for Mu Phi.

 

Alexis Batista-Rios, Mu Phi Epsilon - Alpha Xi

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page